Prokofiev Piano Concerto #3

October went by so fast that I didn’t even get to update the blog… however I would love to share some thoughts on one of my favourite piano concertos.

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) was a Russian and Soviet composer. His works are well known as their sarcastic, dark humour, and percussive characteristics. Prokofiev often uses odd jumps in the melodies to give the music tension and quirkiness.

The third piano concerto is probably the most commonly played among the five piano concertos. It starts with the clarinet playing the main theme as an introduction and quickly leads to the whole orchestra and the solo pianist.

The soloist needs to have incredible technique and endurance to conquer the piece. It is only 30 minutes long but the pianist doesn’t get much rest. The whole orchestra is very active and involved throughout the piece, and the soloist has to articulate enough to convey the fast passages and compete with the full volume of the orchestra. It is an exhausting work for the soloist both physically and mentally.

There are many excellent recordings of this piece done by some of the best pianists in the world. I may be biased. But my favourite one is done by Yuja Wang.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s